Veeam Backups IBM ibm cloud

IBM Cloud Backup with Veeam Self-Service Portal

IBM Cloud VMware Shared Solutions allow users to use Veeam Self-Service Backup Portal, a web-tool based on Veeam Enterprise Manager. The portal helps users to perform backup and restore operations, search for files in guest file systems of backed-up VMs and restore the necessary files to the original location or download them to a local machine, as well as view backup statistics.
The main benefit of using the self-service portal is that there is no need to install the Veeam Backup & Replication console on a local machine.
For more IBM Cloud and VEEAM information please visit https://www.ibm.com/cloud/veeam

Managing Backup Jobs

In this post we are going to cover how users can perform the following operations from the VEEAM Self-service portal:

  • Create a backup job
  • Start, stop and retry jobs
  • Enable and disable jobs
  • Edit backup job settings
  • Delete backup jobs

Create Backup Job

. Open the Jobs tab of Self-Service Backup Portal and click Create.
. At the Job Settings step of the wizard, specify the backup job name, description and retention policy settings. The retention policy defines how many restore points are kept in the backup repository and can be used for data restore.

Add virtual machine

In this step, users need to add a VM or a vApp that the backup job will process.

. Click +Add

. The Add Object window is displayed. Select an object in the infrastructure tree. Users can also search for an object by using the search bar at the top.

. Click OK to add the selected object.
. Click Next to continue.

Optional. Users can select Exclusions if they want to exclude a specific VM from machine containers. Add a VM to the list from the infrastructure tree.

Guest Processing Settings

At the Guest Processing tab users can configure:

  • Application-aware Image Processing. Enables the creation of transactionally consistent backups.
  • Guest file system indexing. Allows advanced guest OS file search functions.
  • Guest OS credentials. Add Linux or Windows credentials for the account with proper privileges to add executable files to the guest OS.

For more details about Guest Processing Settings visit VEEAM’s help center

Job Schedule

At the Job Schedule step of the wizard, configure the backup job scheduling options.
Users can configure backup job scheduling options only if the Enterprise Manager administrator allowed this in the properties of the tenant account.

For more information about job scheduling options please visit VEEAM’s help center

E-mail Notifications

At the Email Notifications step of the wizard, select the Enable e-mail notifications check box and configure notification settings:

  • In the Recipients field, enter email addresses of recipients separated by comma.
  • [Optional] In the Subject field, specify the subject for notification emails.
  • Select the Notify on success, Notify on error and/or Notify on warning check boxes to receive email notification if the job completes successfully, fails or completes with a warning.
  • Select the Suppress notifications until the last retry check box to receive a notification about the final job status. If you do not enable this option, Veeam Backup & Replication will send one notification per every job retry.

. Click Finish to complete adding the backup job.

Starting, Stopping and Retrying Jobs

After a backup job is created, users need to start it for the first time. Select the job on the list and click the Start button to run it.

To stop the job, select it, and click the Stop button. If the job fails, you can click Retry to try to rerun it.

Enabling and Disabling Jobs

The Self-Service Backup Portal allows users to disable a backup job, enable it, delete, or edit its settings. The actions are under the Job drop-down menu.

Note: A backup copy job runs continuously, but it can be disabled for some time. If disabled, it does not monitor source backup repositories and does not copy restore points to the target backup repository.

Delete a job

To delete a job:

  1. Select the required job in the list on the Jobs tab.
  2. Expand the menu commands by clicking Job, then select Delete.

Information about deleted jobs will be removed from Veeam Backup configuration database (and Enterprise Manager database, as well), and these jobs will no longer appear in the UI. If users agreed to delete backup files, they will be removed from backup repository

Additional Resources
VEEAM Help center
IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions